National Flag of the Philippines

National flag of the PhilippinesThe Philippine flag consists of a white triangle with an eight ray sun and three stars in the corners. The rest of the flag is divided into a blue part (top) and a red part (bottom). White stands for the peace on which the land is to be built. The three corners symbolize the resistance movement of the Philippines during the Spanish occupation "Ang Kataastaasan, Kagalanggalangangang Katipunan ng Anak ng Bayan" (highest and most honourable union of the sons of the nation), short Katipunan or Trippel K (triple K). The eight rays of the sun represent the first eight provinces that rose up against the Spaniards: Rizal (Manila), Bulacan, Nueva, Ecija, Tarlac, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas and Pampanga. These provinces are all located near Manila. The three stars represent the three large regions of the Philippines, Luzon in the north, Visayas in the center and Mindanao in the south. Blue stands for the unity of the Philippine people, despite cultural differences and geographical problems (over 7000 islands). Red stands for the Filipinos' willingness to leave blood for their country. In the event of war, the flag is turned upside down, i.e. with the red color upwards.